RSS
Image

TLG Boutique

13 Nov
carleyneck
“Behold, Children are a Gift of the Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward.” Psalm 127:3
        Growing up I always liked kids. I knew I wanted to be a mother one day. That all came crashing down when I was told I couldn’t have kids.  My husband and I decided we would let God be in control of everything and we would pray for wisdom regarding medical decisions that could help us have kids.
        Fast forward to April 2010. I had 2 daughters who were 2 years old and 8 months old. I found out I was pregnant again. We were shocked. I didn’t know how far along, so we went in to my midwife. I was 12 weeks. We had always decided to wait to tell anyone until 13 weeks, and with Mothers Day just around the corner, we decided to wait a little longer. So on Mother’s Day, 2010, at 14 weeks we announced to our family that we were expecting another baby. Two days later I went into my midwife’s office for a routine check-up. My husband stayed at home with our 2 year old because it wasn’t going to be anything major.
         During this routine visit I got some of the worst news of my life. My unborn baby had died. The baby’s heart stopped beating for no reason. I was told by my midwife to go home and mourn, and that I would probably miscarry within a week or two. A week passed, 2 weeks passed, then 3 and 4. Nothing. I continued to go to the midwife and she continued to monitor me. My body didn’t want to miscarry. I was still pregnant, and carrying a baby who’s heart had stopped beating weeks ago. This was one of the toughest times of my life. I carried that baby for 7 weeks, until I finally miscarried. I tried very hard to enjoy my little girls and be thankful that I had them.
          It was at this time that I was once again told that, because of how my body took the miscarriage, I may never have any more kids. I was heartbroken once again, but I had my two little girls. I found peace in my girls.
           I wanted a memorial piece or something to remember my baby by. I started looking online for simple necklaces that I could wear when I was having a bad day, so I could remember my baby and remember that God is in control. It was during this time that I thought about starting an online business for other moms who are feeling what I am. After talking with my husband we decided to go ahead and buy the supplies and I would make my own necklace. It would mean more to me in the end if I made it especially for this time.
         So the supplies came in, I made my special necklace, and then they sat there.A few months later I made a necklace for a friend, just because. My friend commented how wonderful the piece was and that I should sell them. This is when TLG Boutique came into existence. I had my Two Little Girls and a Boutique to sell jewelry.  So TLG Boutique it was. I didn’t start off selling to many people, in fact, it wasn’t until almost a year later that I sold my first piece. I made necklaces for friends, and for gifts, but I never sold any.  A few months after selling my first piece, I branched out and made some mother’s jewelry.  Simple personalized necklaces for moms with their kiddos birthstones. And then business took off.
I now make all kinds of jewelry and have sold necklaces and key chains to every state in the U.S., as well as 5 other countries. It’s amazing what God can do to help heal ones heart. Every time I make an infant loss necklace, I stop and say a little prayer for that momma. I pray that her necklace will bring her comfort and peace when she has a rough day, just as mine did. It helps remind me that I am blessed and God is in control. And if you’re wondering, TLG Boutique now has not only two little girls, but two little boys as well. Several times I have thought about changing the name of my business, but then I am reminded as to why I do what I do and I decide to stick with TLG Boutique.  God is so good!
If you would like to know more about TLG Boutique please visit these links:
Carley         
Carley Robertson is the wife of Travis Robertson, who is the pulpit minister for the Columbine church of Christ in Littleton, CO. Carley is a work-at-home mom with four children.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

We appreciate your thoughts.

 
