RSS

Start Managing Your Time Wisely in the New Year

12 Dec

                                                        priorities

Have a nice, warm cup of hot tea and make yourself cozy.

I want to talk to you about your days. How are they? Are they rushed and hectic? Do you feel like you don’t have time to finish anything?  Are you thinking there must be an easier way to accomplish your daily goals?

Since we are approaching a new year, I thought it would be a great time to talk to you about what works for me.  This month, through a series of posts, I am going to be sharing with you how I started to manage my time wisely. I hope it will help you in some way.  But first, let me add this disclaimer:  

It took me years of reading different home management suggestions to find a combination of ideas that finally worked.  If these ideas do not work for you, I want to encourage you to keep looking.

I am going to share these ideas in simple steps so you will not be overwhelmed.  

People used to say to me, “Wow! You are involved in so many activities.  I don’t know how you do it all!” Guess what? I didn’t.  If I was working on one project, a different project took the back burner.  At one point, one of our main family priorities, homeschooling, was taking the back burner.

That was not ok. I decided that I had to let go of some of my extra activities.

That is when I sat down with my husband and children and wrote out the goals and priorities for our family. Anything that hindered our goals and priorities was stopped.

I was offered some neat opportunities; but, if they did not fit our new family priorities, I said no.  I hate telling people no; but, having priorities in place helps me have a concrete reason for saying no.  Believe me, you will feel great when you start seeing what a difference it makes to have that extra time!

So the first step to managing your time in the new year is to write your goals and priorities for your family. Let go of any obligations that will hinder these goals and priorities. You will feel excited about the extra time you are gaining!


182033_155293891191128_6909111_n                                    

 

R16:16 Team Administrator

Sharla Orren has a BA in Sociology from Henderson State University. She loves homeschooling her two boys: Cash, who is 9, and Keyton, who is 5. She is the wife of Robert Orren, the Youth and Family Minister and a deacon for the Hope church of Christ in Hope, AR. She enjoys teaching Bible classes and a class for girls that she recently started with her friend. She currently has her own blog, Look At What You Are Seeing in which she writes about homeschooling, natural living, homemaking and time management. She was appointed by Governor Mike Huckabee to serve on The United States Selective Service Board. She serves on The Hempstead County Library Board. She also serves as a storm spotter and data collector for The National Weather Service.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Start Managing Your Time Wisely in the New Year

  1. Renée @ Great Peace Academy

    December 12, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    Great Post Sharla! Look forward to reading the series!

     

We appreciate your thoughts.

 
