RSS

Virtuous Servant

08 Jan

Are you a Willing Participant in the Service of Our King

Willing Servant
Are you a virtuous servant? Do you lovingly, willingly set to the work of a servant? Or, do you grumble and complain each time the deacon comes to ask if you can help with____. Maybe you don’t actually grumble. But, in your heart/mind do you think, “Why doesn’t he get someone else, he always comes to me.”

We humans can get so caught up in our selves that we often forget that as Christians we are in communion with the Spirit of God. He knows our hearts, minds and attitudes. When we are asked to serve do we do it gladly as to the Lord?

This month, we encourage you to prayerfully consider how you are presenting your gifts of service to the Father. Listen truly to your heart and determine for yourself if you are a loving, willing participant in the service of our King.

10 Questions to Consider When Called to Service

  1. When asked to be of service do I grumble within my own heart?
  2. When acts of service are announced, do I willingly volunteer to fill any needed role?
  3. When I see something that needs to be done, do I wait to be asked, or do I jump in and serve the LORD?
  4. Do I look for someone else to pass the buck to, or do I receive the task gladly?
  5. Am I willing to receive instruction on how the task is to be performed, or do I only do it my own way?
  6. Do I think my way is better?
  7. Do I feel, even a little, superior because I get asked the most?
  8. How would I feel if a role I normally fulfill were suddenly given to someone else?
  9. Do I look at the service of others, elders, deacons, evangelists, teachers, etc., and think “I wish they would just… .” 
  10. Do I avoid certain people in the body for fear of being asked to do something that I may not want to do?

We talk often about the various roles that the virtuous woman played as found in Proverbs 31. We often overlook the foundational attitude with which she lived her life.

Today we are visiting with Ashlynfrom Consider the Lilies. She sought to look into the heart of the woman who Lemuel’s mother praised to see what led her to be so virtuous.

Serve Christ

Originally posted on Consider the Lilies by Ashlyn Bailey

(Pro 31:29) Many daughters have done virtuously, but thou excellest them all.

The virtuous woman excelled. That is, after all, what she strived for. But what made her surpass others? Her attitude! She had the heart of a servant. In all that she did her main goal and desire was to please God! As a Christian we must become servants of Christ!

(John 12:27) If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.

How do we serve Him? By following Him, obeying his commands.

(John 14:15) If ye love me, keep my commandments.

Obey just the commandments that are convenient to us? Or just the ones that we think are a good idea? No, we must obey all His commands!

 Ashlyn and her husband, Ryan, have been married for 5 years. She is currently an expectant mother. They worship with the Union church of Christ in Somerville, AL. Ashlyn enjoys writing and is a blogger at Consider the Lilies. She takes her title from Luke 12:27-40 She writes about biblical womanhood, stewardship & homemaking.
 
~ Article Written by R16:16 Team Member, Renee Brown
 

Tags: , , , ,

We appreciate your thoughts.

 
