RSS

Stand by Me

09 Apr

My blog is mainly based on traditional songs that we sing perhaps not as often as we should due to their amazing content. More can be read at Harleyhalliburton.wordpress.com and the Facebook page “Think on This….”

Stand by Me

When the storms of life are raging stand by me. When the storms of life are raging, stand by me. When the world is tossing me like a ship upon the sea, thou who rulest wind and water, stand by me.
In the midst of faults and failures, stand by me. In the midst of faults and failures, stand by me. When I do the best I can and my friends misunderstand, Thou who knoweth all about me, stand by me.
When I’m growing old and feeble, stand by me. When I’m growing old and feeble, stand by me. When my life becomes a burden and I’m facing chilly Jordan, Oh, Thou “Lily of the Valley,” stand by me.

 
In life we come to a point where we are simply discouraged. When we want to give up. This can happen to anyone, anywhere, regardless of who that person is among their friends or what that person is.

To the mother who holds her crying children in her arms, to the father coming home from work at the end of a long day, to a man or a woman returning home from a doctor’s visit after receiving a bad report, who do we turn to for strength?

From a set of parents losing a son or daughter, or grandparents losing a grandchild, to set of close friends losing their best and closest friend, where do we go?
When these problems arise and we are overwhelmed with these tragic events, discouragement and depression set in so very quickly.

In the storms of life we seem to watch as our heads go under the rushing waves wondering if that was our last breath. But just as our Lord reached forth and grabbed Peter (Matt. 14) as he was drowning in the sea (after losing his focus on God), our Lord is reaching out His hand to pull us out of the storms that rage in our life.

Who knows what Peter said after grasping the Lord’s hand? One can only imagine but perhaps it sounded something like the words in this song: “Stand by Me.” Whether we are starting a life with a new spouse, moving away from those we love, or dealing with homesickness in our first year of college, we as Christians – followers of the one true God- should all strive to live close to God and pray that He will “Stand by Me.”
Think on This…

 

My name is Harley J. Halliburton. I am a nineteen year old sophomore attending Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. I am a Management Information Systems major (MIS) and team member of Harding’s Ultimate Frisbee team. I have grown up in a small town called Camden, AR. and have lived there for sixteen years as the son of a preacher. I have a younger brother and an older sister. My father and mother are Rod Halliburton and Cindy Halliburton. Before Camden, my family lived in Memphis, TN while my father attended the Memphis School of Preaching (MSOP). Prior to that I lived in Corpus Christi, TX where I was born in 1994.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Stand by Me

  1. Heidi Viars

    April 19, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    thank you so much for those words of encouragement. They came at a God appointed time!

     
  2. Beth Johnson

    July 10, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    Another song that has touched my heart is “Be With Me Lord.” My mother asked to have it sung often as she lay dying with leukemia. When one really studies the message, he can easily see why she wanted that particular one.

    I have made several ladies’ lessons from the song “Take Time to Be Holy.” So much to be learned there…

     

We appreciate your thoughts.

 
