RSS

Fixing our Eyes upon God

10 Jan

Encouragement for Times of Reflection and Prayer

Times of Struggle

As we seek to dedicate our lives in service to the LORD, we often find ourselves dwelling in the here and now. We get caught up in the struggles of this life and can lose sight of our goal.

Maybe you have been reading these articles of encouragement for service and thinking that right now is just not the right time, or that you are struggling just to make it through one day with your current responsibilities, so how can you add additional ones of service to others.

We at R16:16 want to say, it’s o.k. and we understand. We all go through periods of struggles, these are times when we are called to lean upon the Lord. In Christ’s ministry there were times when he was among the people serving as well as times when He was prayerful. Perhaps this is your time to be prayerful.

1 Timothy 2:5

“For there is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the Man Christ Jesus,”

You are not alone. You have a mediator with the Father,here on earth, became a man, and experience all points of temptation just as we do. So He stands at the ready with God, mediating on our behalf. He knows there are times of prayer and reflection and times of service and teaching, and so do we. 

Amy blogs at “Why Amy Smiles.” She too knows what it’s like to be in a place of struggle. She wants to encourage you as well. The following is an excerpt from her blog. Be sure to link through to see more and read her entire article. It is an excellent reminder that when we are in the valley, we should look up to the Father for peace and comfort.

Out With the Old

Originally posted: Jan. 2 2013 at Why Amy Smiles
All Scripture taken from the New American Standard Bible

2013 is done and gone. And frankly, I’m glad to see it go. At the risk of sounding overly dramatic, this past year has been one of the worst years of my life. But in addition to making one miserable, having a rotten year can also be an excellent and effective teacher. Here are three lessons I’ve learned:
First, I’ve learned to love the Psalms. They say misery loves company, and there is something very comforting about having someone else pour out his heart in words I can’t seem to find in mine. Just listen to a few of the many verses of the Psalms I’ve relied on this past year:
 When my anxious thoughts multiply within me,
Your consolations delight my soul. (94:19)
The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him,
And rescues them. (34:7)
But as for me, my feet came close to stumbling,
My steps had almost slipped.
Nevertheless I am continually with You;
You have taken hold of my right hand.
With Your counsel You will guide me,
And afterward receive me to glory.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (73:2, 23-24, 26)
SEE MORE
 
Use this time of reflection and pray for strength, knowledge and wisdom. Find comfort in God’s scriptures and allow Him to lead your heart to the place where once again you can find the call of service.
Amy AlbersAmy is a minister’s wife who lives in Texas and spends her days homeschooling her four kids. She believes there is always a reason to smile, but that sometimes you have to look really hard to find it. She usually has way too many irons in the fire, but thanks God daily for her full, busy life.
~ Article written by Team Member Renee Brown
 

Tags: , , ,

We appreciate your thoughts.